Wednesday, December 24, 2008

NSW Phase 3 implemeted

Kudos for the government for the implementation of the third phase of National Single Window (The Jakarta Post, 24/12/2008). This covers Surabaya's Tanjung Perak Port, Medan's Belawan Port, and Tangerang's Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The first phase in Dec 2007 was for Jakarta's Tanjung Priok Port and the second in mid 2008 for Semarang's Tanjung Emas.

Hopefully these NSW programs can help facilitate trade more efficiently. Indonesia has been notorious in its import and export procedure complexity. It has been estimated that there are 36 different government agencies involved in such procedure, with 48 different export documents, 106 different import documents, and 23 supporting documents (Frontier, Dec 2008).

No comments: